Amrika! Amrika!

Back home now after a brief but joyful trip to Finland, I’m reflecting on my two months in America and wanted to express my admiration for the people I had the privilege of working with on my recent tour of the East Coast.

In the seven states I visited, I gained a glimpse of the inspiring grassroots efforts that so many people are making to build a happy and peaceful future for America and the whole world. For the day that’s in it, this poem is for my American family.
Happy 4th of July.
Luke x

Amrika! Amrika!
Thy Cause! Thy Cause
has pressed with firm hands its seeds
into the soils of America
and raised up a forest
as a shelter for the nations.

I have seen the long haul.

Amrika! Amrika!
Thy Cause! Thy Cause
has bound New York City
in a covenant of wonder
and made of the Garden State
a garden of delight.

I have seen the distant shore.

I have watched the hidden particles
dancing on the lawns of Maine
and tasted of the crystal rivers
gushing from the stones of Massachusetts.
I have emptied my gaze
into the libraries of Maryland
and scattered the ashes of my heart
in the healing greens of Virginia.
I have seen the long haul.

I have witnessed the flowers of independence
blossom in Pennsylvania
and watched the tyrant masters bow
before their slaves. My ribs
have shattered
under the white rapids
of forgiveness.
I have seen the distant shore.

Amrika! Amrika!
Thy Cause! Thy Cause
has painted a veil of light
from Acre to Acre,
grey to green.
I have seen the colours merge!
I have watched the shadows falter and retreat!
I have seen America!
I have seen Thy Cause!
I have seen the long haul!

America! America!
Thy Cause! Thy Cause
has not been forgotten
nor has the light of your Lady’s torch
been quenched –
merely hidden.
I have felt its warmth being kindled
in the secret cities of your children.
I have heard its songs being chanted
in the fertile universe of your young,
its name echoing into eternity, saying…

‘Sorrow not!’
‘Retrace your steps!’
‘Neither sigh and weep!’

But if you must,
weep, then, for a moment.
Even liberty once wept
in chains
in the blackest of pits.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Norma Khoshbin
    Jul 04, 2017 @ 19:17:36

    Luke, you are a sweet gift to our life.Your poem Amrika is luscious.We hope you return often; we are waiting with happy open arms!!!much love to you dear friend,Norma

    From: Luke Slott To: normakho@yahoo.com Sent: Tuesday, July 4, 2017 12:59 PM Subject: [New post] Amrika! Amrika! #yiv9514325382 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv9514325382 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv9514325382 a.yiv9514325382primaryactionlink:link, #yiv9514325382 a.yiv9514325382primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv9514325382 a.yiv9514325382primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv9514325382 a.yiv9514325382primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv9514325382 WordPress.com | Luke Slott posted: “Back home now after a brief but joyful trip to Finland, I’m reflecting on my two months in America and wanted to express my admiration for the people I had the privilege of working with on my recent tour of the East Coast.In the seven states I visited” | |

  2. Khatereh Vahdat-Hagh
    Jul 05, 2017 @ 10:05:57

    Wonderful, Thank you.

  3. Aja Cale
    Jul 05, 2017 @ 18:13:21

    It was wonderful to meet you at the Souvenir Picnic! To hear you perform live was incredibly moving. Thank you for all of your work for the faith and for this outstanding poem! Truly beautiful!

Leave a Reply

