I Dived For Pearls

Dear friends,

After a very special month of touring in The Middle East, I’m back home now and want to send a special thank you to all my friends in the Gulf Countries who worked so hard to make this tour possible.

Here are some clips from the tour, and a few words to express my thanks to everyone who helped, in so many ways, to make the tour happen. It has been a privilege working with all of you and I hope we will meet again soon…

I dived for pearls in the Persian Gulf
And I found them, I found them,
But not in the waters,
And not with wooden boats.

Their oysters are the cities
And the suburbs and streets,
Their oceans the neighbourhoods
Where they transmute darkness
into gleaming drops of light
in the silent alchemy of the invisible.
Their shells are the shops and houses
Letting the water in,
Making marbles from dross,
Changing salt into sweetness,
Strangeness into oneness.

So if you go diving for pearls in the Gulf
Do not seek them in the waters.
No wooden boats are needed.

You will find them glistening like dew
On the red sands of Ras Al Khaimah
And singing like dolphins
In the skyscrapers of Dubai.
They perfume the traffic
On the coral highways of Oman
And spring like fresh water
Amidst the burial mounds of Bahrain.

They raise elevators to the heavens
In the towers of Abu Dhabi
And turn dust into gold
In the invisible quarries of Kuwait.

I dived for pearls in the Persian Gulf
And I found them, I found them,
But not in the waters,
And not with wooden boats.

Luke x

IMG_4898

IMG_4241

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Jul 04, 2016 @ 18:51:40

    That is so beutiful x

  2. Anne Corcoran
    Jul 05, 2016 @ 22:55:33

    Beautiful words & sentiments Luke. Look forward to hearing them put to music

  3. Allison Stewart
    Jul 06, 2016 @ 22:30:20

    So beautiful. Thanks Luke – for everything. Allison

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

