A Song in The Kingdom of Two Seas

facebook.com/852715500/videos/10157092429895501/

Dear Friends,

After an amazing week in the United Arab Emirates, I’ve reached my second-last stop on my tour of the Gulf Countries – the beautiful and fascinating Kingdom of Bahrain.

The bustling cities of the UAE and the people I met there have been an inspiration to me. It’s been the most intensive week of playing I’ve ever done, sometimes playing 2-3 events per day, but the warmth and love I’ve received from the people of Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Ras Al Khaimah have been the fuel that keeps me going. There’s really nothing better than an intensive burst of activity to refine one’s craft and expand one’s comfort zone, and the enthusiasm of the people I worked with in the Emirates has been nourishment to my soul.

Driving now through the islands of Bahrain is like passing through a multi-layered dream, where layers of Greek, Persian, Portuguese, Islamic and British history mingle with Bahrain’s own 5,000-year-old civilisation, just as the sea-water mingles with the fresh-water springs which have sprung up from beneath the sea floor for thousands of years and given the country its name, which means ‘Two Seas’.

My deepest thanks to everyone in the UAE and Bahrain who worked so hard to make all our musical events happen during the past week and a half. It has been a privilege collaborating with you.

As the end of the tour approaches, I’m preparing to head back to Kuwait – where the tour began – and then travel home from there. As I make my way back up the Arabian Peninsula to my starting point, I wanted to fulfil a promise I made to a group of youth who I met in Kuwait on the very first day of the tour: They taught me an Arabic song and I promised to learn it by the end of the tour…

So here it is… Especially for my dear friends in Kuwait, who welcomed me with open arms on my arrival in the Gulf nearly a month ago and put the wind in my sails for the whole tour.

Luke x

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Badi
    Jun 27, 2016 @ 01:49:39

    You are the best Luke…
    And you deserve the bestes…

  2. Nicky Toppin
    Jun 27, 2016 @ 12:42:37

    Great to hear from you and to know you are having such an uplifting experience,

    Unfortunately I could’nt download your song,

    Enjoy Expant and Safe home,

    Nicky

Leave a Reply

