A Video Around The World

Greetings,

I hope you are all enjoying the holidays. I’ll be taking a break from this blog for a few months while I’m working on a new recording project. But for one last post of 2012, I thought I’d share a new video with you.

Earlier this year, I released an EP called ‘The Light of Unity‘. In the weeks preparing to record that EP, I thought it would be an interesting challenge – considering the theme of the title song - to try and record that particular song in different languages.

Before going to the studio, I made a few phonecalls and arranged to visit some friends here in Dublin – an Italian, a Venezuelan, a Brazilian, a Persian and a Frenchman. They welcomed me into their homes and over (many) cups of tea they (very patiently) coached me through the translation of the song and the pronunciation of the words.

When I got to the studio, I put aside a couple of hours to record some ‘alternate’ vocal takes, trying to remember what my friends had taught me.

For an accompanying video, I thought, what better place to see the diversity of the human race than when we are all packed together side by side in the public transport systems of the world’s major metropolitan cities.

So I wrote to some friends in London, Paris, New York and Tokyo to see if they might take their camera-phones on a walk through the carriages of their cities’ subway systems and send me some clips for a music video.

The video for ‘The Light Of Unity’ is now on my YouTube channel (youtube.com/lukeslott)

- for the Spanish version click here.

- for the French version click here.

- for the Persian version click here.

- for the Italian version click here.

- for the Portuguese version click here.

and for the English version (from the EP) click here

My thanks to Ladan in London, Thuy-Ai in Paris, Mike and Diane in New York and Reiko and Yukari in Tokyo for their time making and sending the video clips from their cities around the world, and to all my friends in Dublin for their help with the translations.

I hope you enjoy the video. And if you feel like sharing the song with friends in far-off places, you can download these extra versions for free at lukeslott.bandcamp.com(Francophones, Hispanophones, Lusophones, Italians and Persians – please forgive my accent…) 

As always, my deepest thanks for your support throughout 2012. Best wishes to you all for a happy and prosperous 2013.

Luke

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Berglind
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 17:26:15

    I love it! And showing people huddled on the trains is such a fitting image. As someone who spends a lot of time on the NYC subway, I often find myself looking around and thinking about the plight of humanity and praying for the souls of the people around me.

  2. Isabella Bretz
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 17:43:47

    No waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay, Luke!!!!!!

    The portuguese version is the SWEETEST THING ever! Hahahahaha! I love it very very much! I am passionate about people speaking portuguese… Because rarely there is no accent. I have friends all around the world and I always teach them things just to hear them speaking. :)

    I need your adress to send you my little square thing!

    HAPPY NEW YEAR! All the best in 2013!

    Bella

    ________________________________

  3. nabilwilf
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 17:46:12

    Hi Luke,

    I’m glad to see your creative genius at work! And I look forward to the results of your next project! Happy New Year!

    Love, Nabil

  4. Allison Stewart
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 20:59:44

    Very beautiful Luke. Thank you so much-for staying in touch with all of us and for your music for the world and your heartfelt, joyful service..

    Happy and productive and healthy 2013 to you dear one.

    Love , Allison ( Tom Price, western Australia)

    Sent from my iPhone

  5. Bashiri Marisol
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 22:34:24

    Hi Luke, Thank you for sharing your video! I love the prayer, melody and song! I hv a baby who’s 10 months old and your songs are part of her lullaby collections;). I was really happy to hear you singing in Portuguese with a good Brazilian accent;), I am a Brazilian myself but Luxembourg is my home since 2007… So just wanna say THAnK U!!!! Btw you never thought to visit couples of cities in brazil to do a workshop about arts? I am sure the would love to hv you there! BG, From you Brazilian Baha’i friend who lives in lux;) Marisol

    Envoyé de mon iPhone

  6. Luke Slott
    Jan 02, 2013 @ 07:58:14

    Hey Marisol, I’m glad you enjoyed the video. I would love to go to Brazil someday! Hopefully I’ll make it back to Luxembourg someday as well. I’m glad your baby is enjoying the music too :)

  7. Luke Slott
    Jan 02, 2013 @ 07:59:02

    Thank you very much Allison, a very happy new year to your and your family too. x

  8. Luke Slott
    Jan 02, 2013 @ 07:59:23

    Thanks Nabil! A very happy new year to you too. Hope to see you soon. x

  9. Luke Slott
    Jan 02, 2013 @ 09:04:18

    Thank you so much Bella – yes, I really loved singing in Portuguese! Such a beautiful language. Happy New Year to you too Bella. I’m looking forward to hearing more of your music this year x

  10. Luke Slott
    Jan 02, 2013 @ 09:05:17

    Glad you like it Berglind! Thanks for watching. It was very nostalgic for me, seeing the footage of the New York subway. Hope I’ll be able to visit again soon. x

  11. Pure Management
    Jan 02, 2013 @ 12:27:28

    Happy New year Luke, This is great and a lovely idea also.I thought you might have a bit more of the scorchio scorchio in the Spanish one …just saying :)Well done .I hope the year goes great for you. all the best Joe

  12. Luke Slott
    Jan 05, 2013 @ 17:40:02

    haha! Scorchiooo!! Thanks very much Joe. Happy New Year to you too. All the very best for 2013. :-)

  13. Karen McCants
    Jan 12, 2013 @ 04:40:16

    Hi Luke—I so enjoy your amazing talent. I played your song One Hundred Thousand Veils for everyone the other night when we had Feast at our house…everyone was so moved. You have a wonderful gift—thank you for sharing it—best of luck and blessings to you this year!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,783 other followers

